Assessment Task 1 – Day 1

Monday, 20 March 2017, 4.00pm. What was I doing?

I had my Media 3 studio group meeting from 2.30pm in a classroom in Building 9. As my group was divided into two sub-units, I was in charged of video editing. I was searching for short promotional teasers on Youtube, trying to show my group members what did I have in mind about the short teaser. There were lots of short clips and I didn’t even know where to start from. I searched on Youtube, Vimeo and I even went onto Snapchat since there are always short ads jumping in whenever I’m watching clips on Snapchat. We spent nearly two hours on Youtube trying to find the most suitable video that matches our overall theme. As for the background music, we tried to look for royalty free music website and found Audio Blocks. I would definitely recommended Audio Blocks if anyone is trying to look for copyright free music, instrumental music, sound effects etc.

I walked back home around 5.30pm while listening to Youtube Red (I’ve subscribed it and that costs me $14.99 a month. *Heartbroken*). In my opinion, I prefer Youtube over Spotify. Why? There are quite a number of artists that I could not find on Spotify but not Youtube. I listened to the playlist ‘Music 2017: Playlist of Popular Songs (New Hit Music)‘ and those songs were really amazing. Once I reached home, I switched on my Playing Station IV and watched Finding Dory. I hit the gym, watched videos of NBA highlights, music performances and music videos while stretching. I went back home, continued on with Youtube, hit the top playlist on Youtube and shower. Honestly, as I am writing this, I am truly shocked to see how much time I had committed to Youtube, and this is not even the end of it. After I came out from the shower, I paused my Youtube, went to the kitchen to snack on some tiny bites, and went back to my room. I was doing some reading for my tutorials of the week while listening to Youtube, again. Basically, I did not quit the Youtube app on my phone, not until I sleep. Starting from 5.30pm until 2.00am, I was constantly on Youtube for eight and a half hours. The time I had spent on Youtube yesterday was more than my sleep (precisely 8 hours as I woke up at 10.30am this morning).

I think I am addicted to online media.

 

P.S. This is one of my favourite songs.

Leave a comment